Dr. Megan’s Farewell

Intern MeganThe last week of my year long internship with Anoka Equine is here. The feeling is very bittersweet as I think of all the wonderful people (and their horses) I have met. Working with the Doctors at Anoka Equine has been such a pleasure. They are tremendous resources and fantastic mentors.

Deciding to begin my career with an internship at Anoka Equine was one of the best decisions I ever made. I began this internship year, lacking confidence that I could carry out all the duties required of an Equine Veterinarian. I worried about such things like being able to suture up a bad laceration or effectively diagnosing and treating colic. These are some of the many things I can do now without hesitation.

Spending the first couple of months learning from the veterinarians at Anoka Equine, I quickly gained the confidence to know I could tackle a number of equine veterinary problems and by the end of the summer I looked forward to going out on calls on my own. This year has flown by so fast, it seems like in a blink of an eye I went from being nervous about the most routine cases to taking on even the most challenging, yet I always knew I had the great support of the Doctors at Anoka Equine. I have grown so much as a veterinarian in this year and will forever be grateful for the opportunity to work with such wonderful people.

I also have the fantastic clients of Anoka Equine to thank! When I first started, I worried how clients might receive me as a new vet and intern. I was quickly reassured with the first appointments I saw that the clients of Anoka Equine are some of the best people around! I was so appreciative of their kindness and will greatly miss so many.

When recent graduates tell you that the learning curve is steep, you really do not realize how much until you are experiencing it for yourself. I feel fortunate to have had an internship with such great mentors do I didn’t have to tackle that climb alone. Thank you again to the Doctors, Technicians, staff and clients at Anoka Equine for making this year such a great experience!

I am excited to begin my new career as an Associate Equine Veterinarian at South Carolina Equine Associates in Camden, South Carolina. I feel well prepared for this new position and that is because of this internship year. Although, I will miss so many things about Minnesota- the friends I have made, the lakes and the twin cities area to name a few. I can’t say I will miss the Polar Vortex that was winter this year! It’s now time for me to trade in the insulated coveralls for light weight khakis. Best of luck to this year’s new intern Chelsea Farnsworth!

Happy Trails!

Megan

 

